CONAHEC Recognitions 2008
Call for Nominations

DEADLINE: Monday, September 1, 2008

The Consortium for North American Higher Education Collaboration (CONAHEC) invites member institutions and the higher education community, to nominate individuals and/or institutions for the:

  • CONAHEC Award of Distinction for Outstanding Contributions to North American Higher Education Collaboration"
  • "Manuel T. Pacheco Award"

To be considered, nominations must:

  1. Specify which award the nomination is for
  2. Include the name and full contact information of the NOMINEE
  3. Include the name and full contact information of the nominator
  4. Include a brief biographical description of the NOMINEE
  5. Specify reasons for which the nominee should be considered
  6. Be sent by email to Sean Manley-Casimir at no later than Monday, September 1, 2008.

Submissions will be reviewed by a trinational Awards Committee designated by CONAHEC’s Board of Directors. The selection for each award will be presented at CONAHEC’s 12th North American Higher Education Conference, to be held October 8-10, 2008 in Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico. For more information about the conference, visit:


The CONAHEC Award of Distinction is designed to acknowledge the achievements and contributions of persons or organizations involved in international higher education in Canada, Mexico, or the United States, and whose involvement has demonstrated substantial and effective contribution to the goals of educational integration, collaboration, and leadership. This award will be presented to individuals or organizations that have made significant contribution at either institutional or national levels.

Eligibility: Nominees are not required to be members of CONAHEC.

Selection Criteria for the Award of Distinction:
This award is presented to an **individual or organization** that meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding contribution to the process of the integration of the North American academic community and educational systems of the three countries.
  • Outstanding contribution to the development of education in his/her own country.
  • Outstanding contribution to the development of international education and collaboration in North America.

Past CONAHEC Awards of Distinction have been awarded to:

  • Sylvia Ortega, founding president of AMPEI (1997)
  • David Strangway, former President of the University of British Columbia (1998)
  • Victor Arredondo, former Mexican Director General of Higher Education and current State Secretary of Education in Veracruz, Mexico (1999)
  • Diana Natalicio, President of University of Texas, El Paso (2001)
  • François Tavenas, Rector Emeritus, Université Laval (2002)
  • Tom L. Wood, former President, Mount Royal College (2004)
  • Augie P. Gallego, Chancellor Emeritus, San Diego Community College District (2005)
  • The government agencies sponsoring the Program for North American Mobility in Higher Education which has been offered since 1995 thanks to the cooperation of Human Resources and Social Development Canada (HRSDC), the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE) of the US Department of Education and the Mexican Secretaría de Educación Pública (SEP) (2007)


Named on behalf of Manuel T. Pacheco, a distinguished international educator, this award acknowledges his work and effort in promoting CONAHEC and its trilateral educational focus. This award is given to an outstanding individual from Mexico, Canada, or the United States who has demonstrated exceptional achievement and contribution to the development and progress of CONAHEC, its mission, and in meeting its program objectives. The award recipient must be a member of a CONAHEC member institution.

Selection Criteria for the "MANUEL T. PACHECO" Award:
The award will be presented to an **individual** either from Mexico, Canada, or the United States who meets at least one or more of the following criteria:

  • Has made outstanding contribution to the development and strengthening of CONAHEC as an organization and has furthered the organization's mission and goals.
  • Is or has been a member of a CONAHEC member institution.
  • Has made an outstanding contribution to the development of higher education opportunities in his/her country and, by doing so, strengthened the country's integration to the North American academic community.

Past "MANUEL T. PACHECO" Awards have been given to:

  • Manuel T. Pacheco, former President of University of Arizona (1998)
  • Norman Collins, former representative of The Ford Foundation in Mexico and Central America (1999)
  • Richard W. Jonsen, former Executive Director of WICHE (the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (2001)
  • Walter Uegama, former Vice President of Continuing Education, University of British Columbia (2002)
  • Juan Carlos Romero, former President of Universidad de Guanajuato (2004)
  • Margo Schultz, Former Associate Director, CONAHEC (2005)
  • Dewayne Matthews, Senior Research Director, The Lumina Foundation for Education (2007)